History: Amateur Championship

The Massachusetts Amateur Championship, first contested in 1903, is the oldest and most venerated event on the MGA Championship schedule. Unique in its appeal and format, this event challenges competitors with grueling rounds of stroke and match play over the course of several days.

Arthur G. Lockwood was the inaugural champion and now shares his name on the championship trophy with such golf legends as Francis Ouimet, Jesse Guilford, Frederick Wright and Ted Bishop.

Click here to view the Massachusetts Amateur Championship Media Guide, which contains a list of past champions as well as a comprehensive Championship history.

Past Results (Match Play)

1998 1999 2000 2001
2002 2003 2004 2005
2006 2007 2008 2009
2010 2011 2012 2013

Click for a list of Past Champions

Championship Notes

The Massachusetts Amateur Championship was first played in 1903 and has been played every year since, except for 1917-1918 (due to World War I) and 1942-1945 (World War II).

The record for most victories is seven, held by Fred Wright (1920, 1926, 1928-31, 1938). Francis Ouimet won the championship six times (1913-15, 1919, 1922, 1925). Both players are enshrined in the Massachusetts Golf Hall of Fame.

Brae Burn Country Club and The Country Club have each hosted the Amateur Championship 10 times, more than any other clubs.

The longest final match in championship history was 40 holes in 1993. Flynt Lincoln eventually beat Jason Kissell to win the championship. The shortest final match was in 1922 - Francis Ouimet beat Clark Hodder, 12&11.

2015 will mark the 107th playing of the Massachusetts Amateur Championship. Only two state golf associations have contested their Amateur Championships longer - the Golf Association of Philadelphia (115 years), and the Metropolitan Golf Association (113 years).



MGA Noteworthy

  • Click to view the Massachusetts Amateur Championship Media Guide
  • The 2015 Massachusetts Amateur Championship will be hosted by Oak Hill Country Club in Fitchburg. This will mark the first time that the historic club will have hosted the Massachusetts Amateur Championship. Oak Hill CC has hosted the Massachusetts Open Championship six times.

Past Champions

Fred Wright (1920, 1926, 1928-31, 1938)
MGHOF Class of 2012

Ted Bishop (1940, 1946, 1961)
MGHOF Class of 2012

Francis Ouimet (1913-15, 1919, 1922, 1925)
MGHOF Class of 2002

John Kelly (2014)






©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.