Championships: 2014 Amateur Championship

The oldest and most venerated event conducted by the MGA, the state amateur annually crowns the best amateur player in the state. Unique in its appeal and format, this event challenges competitors with grueling rounds of stroke and match play over the course of several days. Arthur G. Lockwood was the inaugural champion in 1903 and now shares his name on the championship trophy with such golf legends as Francis Ouimet, Jesse Guilford, Frederick Wright and Ted Bishop.

July 14-18

WAGR Counting Event: The World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR), which comprises a women’s ranking and a men’s ranking for elite amateur players, is offered by The R&A and the USGA as a global service to golf. WAGR is updated every Wednesday on and is available to national federations and organizers of amateur and professional events and tours for purposes of offering exemptions, selecting national teams and assembling Orders of Merit. WAGR currently incorporates over 4,000 events with over 10,000 players and endeavors to be the most comprehensive and accurate ranking in golf by effectively comparing players from around the world who may never directly compete against one another.


Entries are open to amateur golfers who hold membership in an MGA member club and have an up-to-date MGA/USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 4.4 (as determined by the May 1 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification as defined on the Entry Form.

Qualifying Sites

Date Site Times
Info Sheet
June 2 Red Tail GC
June 2 The Captains GC - Port Course
June 3 New England CC
June 4 LeBaron Hills CC
June 4 Dennis Pines GC
June 9 Far Corner GC
June 16 William J. Devine GC
June 19 Bass Rocks GC
June 24 Highfields G&CC
June 25 Stockbridge GC

2013 Massachusetts Amateur Champion

Mike Calef

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.