Championships: 2013 Amateur Championship

The oldest and most venerated event conducted by the MGA, the state amateur annually crowns the best amateur player in the state. Unique in its appeal and format, this event challenges competitors with grueling rounds of stroke and match play over the course of several days. Arthur G. Lockwood was the inaugural champion in 1903 and now shares his name on the championship trophy with such golf legends as Francis Ouimet, Jesse Guilford, Frederick Wright and Ted Bishop.

July 8-12


Entries are open to amateur golfers who hold membership in an MGA member club and have an up-to-date MGA/USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 4.4 (as determined by the May 1 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification as defined on the Entry Form.

Qualifying Sites

Date Site Times
Info Sheet
June 3 Bay Pointe CC
June 3 Wyantenuck CC
June 4 Presidents GC
June 4 Spring Valley CC
June 5
Wianno Club
June 5 Andover CC
June 5 Cranberry Valley GC
June 10 Winchester CC
June 17 Plymouth CC
June 18 Cold Spring CC


2012 Massachusetts Amateur Champion

Mike Calef

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.