Championships: 2012 Amateur Championship

The oldest and most venerated event conducted by the MGA, the state amateur annually crowns the best amateur player in the state. Unique in its appeal and format, this event challenges competitors with grueling rounds of stroke and match play over the course of several days. Arthur G. Lockwood was the inaugural champion in 1903 and now shares his name on the championship trophy with such golf legends as Francis Ouimet, Jesse Guilford, Frederick Wright and Ted Bishop.

July 9-13, 2012

  • Tedesco Country Club
  • Marblehead, MA
  • Entry Fee: $150
  • Entries Close on Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 5:00 p.m.


Entries are open to amateur golfers who hold membership in an MGA member club and have an up-to-date MGA/USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 4.4 (as determined by the May 1, 2012 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification as defined on the Entry Form.

Qualifying Sites

Date Site Times
Info Sheet
June 11 The Captains GC - Port Course
June 12 Glen Ellen CC
June 14 Elmcrest CC
June 21 Kernwood CC
June 21 Marlborough CC
June 26
Milton-Hoosic Club
June 27 CC of Halifax
June 27 Franklin CC
June 28 Sterling National CC
July 2
Bellevue GC


2011 Massachusetts Amateur Champion

Ryan Riley

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.