Championships: Open Championship

This event is the only one of its kind on the MGA Championship slate, welcoming both amateur and professional golfers to compete against each other. Inaugurated in 1905 by Donald Ross' victory at Vesper Country Club, the state open has provided some of the most defining moments in Massachusetts golf history. Notable champions of past years include Walter Hagen, Francis Ouimet, Gene Sarazen, Byron Nelson and Bob Toski.

June 27-29, 2011

  • Oak Hill Country Club
  • Fitchburg, MA
  • Entry Fee: Amateurs - $150; Professionals - $225
  • Entries Close on Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 5:00 p.m.

Registration Alert!!

For Professionals: Similar to previous years, all professionals must create a new profile in the MGA system using their current e-mail address. Use the link to the right to get started or click here.

For Amateurs: All Bay State amateur competitors who have an up-to-date GHIN number can use the My MGA Home program (similar to previous years). Bay State residents who do not have an up-to-date GHIN number must create a new profile in the MGA system using their current e-mail address. Click here to set up your account.


Entries are open to professional golfers and amateur golfers with an up-to-date MGA/ USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 2.4 (as determined by the April 15, 2011 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification as defined on the Entry Form.

Qualifying Sites

Date Site Times
Info Sheet
May 16 CC of New Bedford
May 16 Glen Ellen CC
May 18 Sandy Burr CC
May 24 Bay Club at Mattapoisett
May 31 Berkshire Hills CC
May 31 Pleasant Valley CC
June 1 Cape Cod National GC


2010 Massachusetts Open Champion

Jim Hazen

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.