Championships: Amateur Championship

The oldest and most venerated event conducted by the MGA, the state amateur annually crowns the best amateur player in the state. Unique in its appeal and format, this event challenges competitors with grueling rounds of stroke and match play over the course of several days. Arthur G. Lockwood was the inaugural champion in 1903 and now shares his name on the championship trophy with such golf legends as Francis Ouimet, Jesse Guilford, Frederick Wright and Ted Bishop.

July 11-15, 2011

  • Wyantenuck Country Club
  • Great Barrington, MA
  • Entry Fee: $125
  • Entries Close on Thursday, May 5, 2011 at 5:00 p.m.


Entries are open to amateur golfers who hold membership in an MGA member club and have an up-to-date MGA/USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 4.4 (as determined by the May 1, 2011 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification as defined on the Entry Form.

Qualifying Sites

Date Site Times
Info Sheet
June 6 Oakley CC
June 6 Holden Hills CC
June 9 Fall River CC
June 9 Kernwood CC
June 13 CC of Wilbraham
June 14 Cape Cod CC
June 14 Chicopee CC
June 15 Vesper CC
June 21 Stockbridge GC
June 23 Nashawtuc CC


2010 Massachusetts Amateur Champion

John Hadges

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.