Championships: Open Championship

This event is the only one of its kind on the MGA Championship slate, welcoming both amateur and professional golfers to compete against each other. Inaugurated in 1905 by Donald Ross' victory at Vesper Country Club, the state open has provided some of the most defining moments in Massachusetts golf history. Notable champions of past years include Walter Hagen, Francis Ouimet, Gene Sarazen, Byron Nelson and Bob Toski.

June 21-23, 2010

  • Wellesley Country Club
  • Wellesley, MA
  • Entry Fee: Amateurs - $150; Professional - $225
  • Entries Close on Thursday, April 22, 2010 at 5:00 p.m.


Entries are open to professional golfers and amateur golfers with an up-to-date MGA/USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 2.4 (as determined by the April 15, 2010 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification as defined on the Entry Form.

A professional purse of $75,000 will be distributed to the low forty (40) finishers and ties. The overall Champion will receive a winner’s check of $15,000. The top 10 amateur competitors and ties will receive golf shop credit for their performance. A purse of $1,500 will be awarded to the top three local PGA SECTION professionals.

Qualifying Sites

Date Site Times
Info Sheet
May 20 Gardner Municipal GC
May 24 Poquoy Brook GC
May 24 Whitinsville GC
May 25 CC of Pittsfield
May 26 Stow Acres CC
May 27 Dennis Pines GC


2009 Massachusetts Open Champion

Rob Oppenheim

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.