Championships: Amateur Championship

The oldest and most venerated event conducted by the MGA, the state amateur annually crowns the best amateur player in the state. Unique in its appeal and format, this event challenges competitors with grueling rounds of stroke and match play over the course of several days. Arthur G. Lockwood was the inaugural champion in 1903 and now shares his name on the championship trophy with such golf legends as Francis Ouimet, Jesse Guilford, Frederick Wright and Ted Bishop.

July 12-16, 2010

  • Myopia Hunt Club
  • South Hamilton, MA
  • Entry Fee: $125
  • Entries Close on Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 5:00 PM


Entries are open to amateur golfers who hold membership in an MGA member club and have an up-to-date MGA/USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 4.4 (as determined by the May 1, 2010 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification as defined on the Entry Form.

Qualifying Sites

Date Site Times
Info Sheet
June 7 Oakley CC
June 7 Bradford CC
June 7 Cyprian Keyes GC
June 8 Cape Cod CC
June 8 Sharon CC
June 9 Hickory Ridge CC
June 9 Segregansett CC
June 10 Heritage CC
June 14 Ludlow CC
June 15 Acushnet River Valley GC
June 15 Bayberry Hills GC
June 16 Needham GC


2009 Massachusetts Amateur Champion

Bill Drohen

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.